Algoma Paramedics Receive Awards

Chief Henry Alamenciak (centre left,  David Alloway (centre right)
Chief Henry Alamenciak (centre left, David Alloway (centre right)

September 29th, 2017 - The Ontario Association of Paramedic Chiefs (OAPC) concluded its 2017 Annual General Meeting in Ottawa by recognizing worthy paramedics with Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal and Award of Courage.

Derrick Bates (R) receives Exemplary Service Medal .
Derrick Bates (R) receives Exemplary Service Medal .
photo supplied

The Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal was created in 1994 by the late Governor General Romeo LeBlanc, as a component of the Canadian Honours System. The Award is presented to paramedics who have served for at least twenty years in a meritorious manner, characterized by the highest standards of good conduct, industry and efficiency. To qualify, at least ten of these years of service must have been street level (or air) duty involving potential risk to the individual. Nominees must have been employees on or after October 31, 1991, but may now be active, retired or deceased. Since the Award's inception, there have been approximately 1,900 Ontario recipients of the Medal.

Derrick Bates was the proud recipient of the 2017 Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Medal. In April 1990, Derrick began his career with Blind River Ambulance Service as a part time Emergency Medical Attendant. In 1995, he became a Primary Care Paramedic. In 1996, Derrick became a full time Paramedic with Blind River Ambulance Service. In 2001, he continued to work in Blind River for Algoma District Paramedic Services. In October 2014, he was promoted to Work Group Leader. As a paramedic, Derrick was preceptor for many college students looking to make Paramedicine a career. Derrick was a volunteer firefighter for the town of Blind River for 25 years. He received the Queen Elizabeth Jubilee medal for his work in the Elliot Lake Mall collapse. Derrick has been involved with the OPP S.T.O.P. program and a coach and trainer for local minor hockey.

The Ontario Association of Paramedic Chiefs Award of Courage is given to a Paramedic who has displayed a conspicuous act of bravery.

David Alloway was the proud recipient of the OAPC Award of Courage. On May 21st, 2017, David was in a group of ATVers. The rider in front of David failed to navigate a corner on the trail and both riders, a husband and wife, were unable to swim to shore. Without hesitation, David jumped into the cold lake and rescued the female and brought her to shore. Once she was safe on shore, David turned his attention to getting the male rider safely to shore. In a letter that Algoma District Paramedic Services received from the couple, they wrote "There are no words in our lifetime that can express our utmost gratitude to Dave Alloway for truly saving our lives from drowning that day." David is a resident of Blind River. Since April of 2009, David has been a Primary Care Paramedic with Algoma District Paramedic Services. Currently, he is stationed in Thessalon.

Algoma District Services Administration Board and Algoma District Paramedic Services are proud to have Derrick Bates and David Alloway recognized by the Ontario Association of Paramedic Chiefs.

Submitted with photos by Jeffrey Pulvermacher, Deputy Chief, Algoma District Paramedic Services.