CASS Players Recognized by League

CASS Hockey award winners: Michael Shaw (L), Mack Ableson (C) and Tyler Greco (R)
CASS Hockey award winners: Michael Shaw (L), Mack Ableson (C) and Tyler Greco (R)
A trio of CASS Hockey Players were recognized by the Sault Ste. Marie High School League for their accomplishments, dedication and leadership. 

Goalie Tyler Greco was the winner of the Matt Howard Memorial Trophy.  Named in honour of the late Matt Howard, a former forward with the erstwhile Sir James Dunn Eagles, the award is probably the most prestigious and sensitive because of the way it tugs at the heart strings.  Matt was just 19 years old and playing for coach Remi Gentes at Sir James Dunn when he was struck and killed by a vehicle when walking home on February 28, 2010.The award, named in Matt’s memory, annually goes to the local high school hockey player who, like Matt did, has a great passion for the game and equal respect for his coaches, teammates, opponents and referees.

Michael Shaw received two awards.  First he was recognized for his on-ice abilities combined with academics, leading the way academically in the league with three university courses, all scoring 95% or higher.  Michael also received the Art Jarratt Memorial Award Bursary.  Named in honour of Art Jarratt, a longtime volunteer in hockey and baseball in Sault Ste Marie, it recognizes dedication to the team, sport, and community, while demonstrating strong leadership skills and commitment.  

Mackenzie Ableson was recognized as the leagues most valuable defenseman.  Other individual awards handed out, and the CASS nominee for each included:  MVP (Tyler Greco), Most Sportsmanlike (Michael Shaw) and Rookie of the year (Joel Lamoureux).